The Next Big Thing

I was tagged to participate in this blog chain by the wickedly wonderful Wendy Potocki. She can be found at Starbucks, dance studios, chatting with Gelsey Kirkland or on her blog: http://wp.me/p191L7-3a                       

This is one of her novels that you should definitely check out if you’re a fan of horror and suspense!

The Man With the Blue Hat: http://amzn.to/UVmIYS

And now: The Next Big (Short) Thing!

1) What is the working title of your next book?
It’s a short story and it’s called Shell and Shadow. I’m expecting to have it out by March 1’st.

2) Where did the idea come from for the book?
A beautiful Hotel in Miami (on South Beach) that is very involved in the community, a sort of hub for art and literature. I thought how nice it would be if my main characters, Lily and Kent, could have a vacation there. Poor Lily has had a hard time of it being a psychic in my last two novels, Soul and Shadow and Fire and Shadow. I’m afraid that the next book in the series, Storm and Shadow, will see her in difficulty again! So this short story is a nice little bridge between books, where she just gets to have fun. Not that spirits won’t be turning up… 

 3) What genre does your book fall under?
Romantic suspense.

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?                              

I would choose Chris Hemsworth to play all of the parts! Heck, he can produce and direct the movie too, as long as I get to be on the set every day!

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
A couple goes on vacation to Miami to raise their spirits, and end up raising others as well.

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
This is not an official part of the Shadow series published by Imajin Books, so I’m doing it on my own.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?
About 3 weeks. I always do research.

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? 

Well, it’s unique as far as I know, being a kind of Valentine to a place, a pal and a poet. But my favorite romantic suspense author is Heather Graham, and she’s written short stories. I think she has actually lived in Florida, where that hotel is too. So I can’t go wrong with the name Heather Graham, can I?

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?
My best friend and all of the hard work she does to support philanthropy, arts and culture – actually at The Betsy-South Beach. The hotel has a Writer’s Room (for working writers to be in residence). She’s urging me to go there, but until I can, I thought it made sense to send some of my characters … to scope it out.

10) What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?
Profits will go to Zara’s Center, a home for AIDS impacted orphans and vulnerable children in Zimbabwe. I do administrative work for the Family Foundation that supports this wonderful place.

Thank you for reading about my new story! Here are the two lovely people I’ve tagged to tell you about theirs:

Adriana Ryan, whose exquisite novel World of Shell and Bone is burning up the Amazon charts: www.adrianaryan.com/blog.

And Sunni Morris, who weaves magical tales like Saving the Rainbow (The Adventures of Patrick O’Sullivan): http://sunni-faeriebookloft.blogspot.com

A very happy Valentine’s Day to you all!

Categories: Shell and Shadow | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. Love your entry in this blog hop! For those not familiar with Susan’s work, please check out her fabulous Lily Evans’ mystery series! One book and you’ll be hooked! I can’t wait to read all about the new adventure at the fabulous Betsy Hotel!

  2. fweenie

    What a delighful blog post! I can’t wait to read the book.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

