Walk Now For Autism Speaks

 

We came, we walked, we ate cookies.

Tomorrow is the annual Walk Now for Autism Speaks. My sister Charlene and I will be on the team Peter’s Pride, led by photographer and volunteer extraordinaire Ann Rumrill. 1 in 88 children are now being diagnosed with an autism spectrum disorder. That’s a staggering number. Autism is the fastest-growing serious developmental disability in the U.S. , and funds are needed for research into the causes, prevention, treatments and a cure. You can visit http://www.autismspeaks.org/about-us for information including a Resource Guide and Tool Kits. It’s a wonderful organization.

And speaking of wonderful, I have to mention Uno Chicago Grill. They have given generously every year, donating gift cards and goody bags as well as holding Dough Rai$ers. And they are so nice about it that they make you feel as if you are doing them the favor! I’ve always loved this restaurant for its great food and all the perks of the Insider’s Club. All you have to do is sign up via email and you get coupons, free samples at taste-testings, special events, and a free entrée on your birthday. What more could a person want? Oh yes, a bartender like the irrepressible Gary! He sometimes doubles as a waiter, and he gave Ann and myself different colors of straws and every kind of fruit as a garnish on our non-alcoholic drinks. Such gestures make you feel like you’re really important. So thank you Gary, thank you Ann Kabel (who stayed late to talk to us) and thank you Henrietta Uno Chicago Grill!

It’s supposed to be a beautiful day tomorrow, 65° and some sun. I’ll let you know if Char and I survive the walk. Something tells me that we won’t be the first to cross the finish line 🙂 But who cares, it’s for a good cause and it’s fun!

Categories: Walk for Autism 2012 | Tags: , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Walk Now For Autism Speaks

  1. You can do it Susan. It’s a worthy cause. Visit with your sister and the mile will go by fast. Great weather for it too.

    Sunni

    • My sister made it MUCH easier, Sunni! It really was a beautiful scenic walk, and the whole atmosphere was fantastic. The support, the enthusiasm, the hope, and the excitement I will long remember.

  2. Bless you! Hope you raise lots of money and awareness.

    • Thank you MM! Char and I were like the Gimpy Sisters, she with her disc problems and I with my fibro, but we supported each other and made it! I’m so proud! It was so great to see so many families there, knowing they were in a safe place being completely accepted. Not something they find all that often.

  3. Ann

    Thank you so much Sue, and Char too! I really appreciate you coming out to support the walk and my team! And to see you make the entire walk was fantastic too, I know what an effort that was for you. You are so right in the comment of the families being in a safe place where they are accepted. Most parents of children with autism have to watch them every second and are quite often judged by others around them. They are told that their child is old enough to tie their own shoe or too old to be having a meltdown. If there is one thing I would like others to know, is don’t judge without knowing the whole story. That kid that is sitting on the floor in the mall crying hysterically may not be a “brat” but may be having a sensory overload because the lights are bright and making a buzzing sound that he can’t stand (and we cannot hear). Once again, thank you so much for all of your support.

    Please don’t worry about not having donations on your personal page, we should have set that up before you donated to me!

    If anyone wants to know more about our team here is the team page! Donations are accepted until December and anyone can check for a walk in their area.

    http://www.walknowforautismspeaks.org/rochester/peterspride

  4. We were happy to do it, Ann, and it really was a great experience. To see the looks on the kids’ faces as they saw and hugged the mascots was incredible. So many adorable children! And all having a good time!
    You do such wonderful work and I know how much work it is! Thank you for making a point about judging others. It must be a terrible added burden to parents when people stare and make comments. You’re the one who taught me what might really be happening.
    Could you put the link to your walk pictures here? I know everyone is dying to see me on the arm of the Toys R Us giraffe! Ann took the photo at the top of my blog, my friends. She’s an award-winning photog and all the pictures I tweet are hers!

  5. Charlene Sinclair

    This was my first walk, and what an enjoyable experience it was! To see so many people out supporting such a worthy cause, and smiling and laughing while they were doing it was so uplifting. And the kids were the best part of it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

