The Mummy’s-Blessing?

Last week, archaeologists made a startling discovery in Egypt’s Valley of the Kings (http://tinyurl.com/7ncusgx). In the first non-royal female burial ever found there, an Egyptian and Swiss team uncovered the tomb of Nehmes Bastet. She was a temple singer nearly three thousand years ago, and she was protected by the cat goddess Bastet. The tomb was not originally intended for her, but had been reused. Her sarcophagus is remarkably well-preserved, and is expected to be opened soon.

Hm. Sounds a little familiar. The mummy of a singer? Questionable tomb? Bastet? All elements in my novel Soul and Shadow. But here’s the really weird thing. Since I discovered this tomb (okay, not personally in Egypt, but on the internet) I have had nothing but good things happen to me.

That night, my ranking on Kindle rose to its highest number ever.

The next day, I was told that I was getting a raise at work. I also received a gift in the mail-a small package shipped from the Metropolitan Museum in New York. It was a lovely Egyptian bangle with a pattern taken from an ancient tomb painting. There was no card to identify the sender. A gift out of the blue! Of course, I had to buy a lottery ticket after that! And…I won!! Two dollars!

No, not enough to pay off the mortgage. But I didn’t lose, did I?

It might not be as catchy as a mummy’s curse, but a mummy’s blessing is a lot more fun! Now, if they discover a magic lotus blossom necklace when they open that coffin, it may be time to rent an apartment- in the Twilight Zone!

Categories: Mysterious Musings | Tags: , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “The Mummy’s-Blessing?

  1. fweenie

    I have read this book and it is fantastic! Highly recommend it!

  2. M

    Great book!!!

  3. Adriana Ryan

    Wow, I have goosebumps! Soul and Shadow really resonated with me, and as I was reading your blog post, my eyes just kept getting wider and wider. YOWZA! I love the idea of a mummy’s blessing. Perhaps as you tell their story, they bestow kindness on you. 😀 Wouldn’t that be awesome?! The bangle sounds so beautiful–you’ll have to post a picture!

  4. I will, Adriana! And of the necklace my sister in London sent me from the British museum. It has a silver charm with the hieroglyph for “sister.”
    Maybe some of the mummy magic will rub off on you now!
    Treat yourself to Adriana’s blog, readers. It’s spookynatural!(Ooo-I trademark that word!)

  5. Update: http://www.egyptological.com/2012/01/tomb-k64-in-the-valley-of-the-kings-the-story-as-it-broke-7134. A well-preserved mummy was found inside the coffin, and there are hints of exciting things to come!

    • Adriana Ryan

      What a mystery! What was she doing there if she wasn’t part of the royal family?!

  6. Her father was a powerful priest and they were in control then. I wish the team would publish more pictures! There are rumors of artifacts in the tomb as well. It is very exciting! And ironic that it was discovered on the day the Egyptian Revolution started, but hidden until later. A symbolic day of past and future.

  7. Susan,

    This is a very interesting story. It’s time to pause and reflect isn’t it? There are no coincidences. I would say you’re writing the right book just at the right time.

    Sunni

    • I think that you’re right, Sunni! There are no coincidences. I just finished listening to a video (Celtic Woman) with faeries and moons! Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

